This has just been such a longgggg weekend – and not in the sense of having extra days off.  Friday was our initiation!!!  So now my job as pledge mommy is over :0(  But I have a lot more free time :0)  Friday’s eats were boring anyway, so the pictures will do. I did 40 minutes on the stair stepper in the morning before my class, reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma!

I love Fridays for a few reasons.
1.  It is Friday, universally loved by all.
2.  I only have two classes, and no work.
3.  It is my grocery shopping/errand day!

I really like having the time to myself on Fridays to run errands, ESPECIALLY grocery shopping – my favorite activity!  Here are most of my goodies:

PA240955

Organic romaine, carrots, pepper turkey, sugar snap peas, Chobani Strawberry (x 4), Chobani Pineapple (x2), giant tub of plain Chobani, Laughing Cow Light Original Swiss, Laughing Cow Garlic and Herb, cucumber, Cortland apple (x5), Red Anjou pear (x2), bananas, stawberries, grapes, kiwi (x4), eggs, and unpictured dried apricots.

Check out the awesomeness of this ginormous Chobz:

PA240959

Fab.

Saturday

After initiation, I woke up and made a beautiful and delicious fruit and yogurt bowl that somehow escaped the camera’s eye … Anyway, it was:

  • 1/2 c plain 0% Chobani
  • 1/4 Red Anjou pear, chopped
  • 1/4 giant Cortland apple, chopped
  • 2 big strawberries, sliced
  • 1/2 kiwi, chopped

IT WAS AMAZING.  So sorry no picture.  Don’t get too upset – I had it later on too.

For lunch, I met up with my dad and my brother for my dad’s birthday lunch (that was two days ago) at Dakota, a steakhouse.  I opted for the salad bar for my meal and it was great! .. Aside from a server who I think was on drugs.  Normal.  Again, no pic, but the ingredients were delicious and plentiful:

  • Lots of dark lettuce (maybe Bibb?)
  • peas
  • cucumbers
  • cottage cheese with dill?
  • mushrooms
  • shredded carrots
  • banana peppers
  • craisins
  • chickpeas
  • steamed broccoli
  • marinated/pickled beets
  • marinated green beans
  • marinated artichokes

It was just so great and incredibly filling.  For some reason, the only time I really eat cottage cheese is from the salad bar at restaurants.  Just something weird I noticed about myself.

After lunch, I realized I was right near Mecca (aka Whole Foods), which I haven’t been to in months = sacrilege.  Yes, I had just gone grocery shopping yesterday at Big Y.  But it was called for.  After wandering around for legit over an hour, including begging an employee to check in back for Stonyfield’s Pumpkin Pie yogurt a few more times (empty shelf = 😦 ), I came home with this:

PA240961Syngery Kombucha in Strawberry (!!), Tazo Sweet Cinnamon Spice Tea, fruit & veggie wash, 2 packets Justin’s Maple Almond Butter, 2 packets Justin’s Honey Almond Butter, a Peanut Butter and Jelly Larabar (!!!), a Honey Graham Z-Bar, 2 Spooky S’mores Z-Bars (!!!!!), and roasted red pepper hummus.

I’ve been craving almond butter, but don’t want to pay $10+ a jar so Justin’s packets were the perfect solution!  I’ve been meaning to try Kombucha and remembered that The Hungry Yogini said the strawberry is a “starter” flavor.  Too bad when I got out of the car, it fell and started spraying everywhere outside.  Oh well, it didn’t break and seems fine – I can’t wait to try it!  I tried the tea last night – it’s really good!  I put a PureVia in it and tonight I think I might add some milk just to see.

Dinner last night was another giant salad, this time from the dining hall.  Obviously, no pic.  ‘Twas:

  • Iceberg (thanks UConn, for the many vitamin-filled offerings)
  • jalapenos
  • cucumbers
  • kidney beans
  • chickpeas
  • baby corn
  • broccoli
  • artichokes
  • salsa

Yum.  I don’t know why I’ve been craving salads lately but they’re obviously not a bad thing to crave and my body just wants veggies I guess.

I was planning 5 miles yesterday, but I was exhausted from initiation and the days leading up to it, plus it was pouring all day so I just rested – and it was great.  After dinner, one of my best friends relaxed in our common room all night.  I had my new Tazo, we watched P.S. I Love You (so sad and great) and Almost Famous (favorite.movie.ever).  In between the two, I re-made my yogurt bowl from breakfast:

PA240964PA240965
1/2 cup plain 0% Chobani, 1/2 kiwi, 1/4 Cortland apple, 1/4 Red Anjou pear, 2 large strawberries, 1/2 banana, 1/2 crumbled Kashi Honey Toasted 7 Grain granola plank.

From the morning edition, I added the banana and granola.  Banging.  I don’t eat pears enough.  Or kiwi.  AND I KEPT THE SKIN ON.  Delish – just like an apple!  Fibrous and chewy.

Sunday

This morning we had our annual philanthropy event to benefit CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocates), a softball tournament.  On our way over to the fields, we stopped at a different dining hall for breakfast.  No pic, but I had plain old Cheerios with skim and a banana, plus two small slices of canteloupe, and coffee with milk and Splenda.  All of the food we had all day was donated by area restaurants – pizza, wings, and calzones.  I packed lunch:

PA240966PA240967
Arnold’s 100% WW Sandwich Thin with pepper turkey, Laughing Cow Light Original Swiss, and romaine – the usual.  Plus some dried apricots.

Yum-o.  Dins was another unpictured d-hall salad made up of:

  • Spinach (yay nutrients!)
  • alfalfa sprouts
  • cucumber
  • mushrooms
  • broccoli
  • salsa
  • roasted red pepper hummus (so excited – hum suspiciously disappears from the dining hall on weekends)

I also had a piece of cinnamon raisin toast (drool) with some Promise spread.  That was about two hours ago and I’m already feeling a little rumbling in my tummy :0(.  Giant salad, why did you disappoint me??

Off to snack, have our exec meeting, and go to the gym!

