But I’m not going to let this one get me down!

After work yesterday, I went out with a friend for dinner to a steakhouse/Mexican restaurant.  Yes, it’s two in one.  I really was craving Mexican but I also just really wanted shrimp and I’ve been craving shrimp for WEEKS.  I LOVE seafood – especially shrimp and scallops, but really I love it all.

Miracle of the day – I only had 2 (TWO!) of the freshly fried delicious tortilla chips placed in front of us upon sitting.  Their salsa is amazing and super spicy, just the way I like it!  But whenever I go there I end up making a meal out of the chips, calorically and volume-wise.  It’s just not worth it.

I ordered the shrimp and avocado salad, no cheese.  Also, no picture.  It came on a bed of romaine and iceberg, with 3 jumbo (1 was definitely not) shrimp, tomatoes, red and green pepper slices, onions, cucumbers, and avocado.  I got fat-free honey dijon on the side.  The menu didn’t say that the shrimp were sauteed in anything but they definitely were – I just have no idea what.  I couldn’t even really put a taste on it.  I ate all of the shrimpies, lettuce, onion, cucumbers, and peppers (which I usually don’t like), and even some of the grape tomatoes, which I also usually don’t like.  I didn’t eat the avocado because being out of season, it had no taste.  And was browning.  Ick.  It was ok but I definitely could have made it at home for wayyyyy cheaper.  But it’s the company that was nice :).

I came home and wasn’t full so I had a snack:

PA271006
Dining hall stolen apple with Tazo Sweet Cinnamon Spice tea, skim and PureVia.

I was nice and satisfied after that.  Ignore the bite out of the apple.  Oops!

LOOK WHAT I GOT IN THE MAIL!!!

PA271007

Elie Kreiger’s The Food You Crave cookbook!!!!  I had a gift card to Borders and heard a lot of great things about this cookbook.  It’s my very first!  Although I’ll most likely be living at home next year (and my dream job would take me on the road), I really want to learn how to cook.  Eventually I’ll be on my own and need to cook REAL meals for myself, and down the line, for my family.

Flipping through this last night, I just want to cook everything!  It all looks and sounds SO amazing.  I love that she has nutritional facts and serving sizes for everything, as well as healthy eating tips throughout the book.  It really is a healthy lifestyle cookbook, not “diet food.”  I can’t wait to try something out when I’m home this weekend!

Right now I’m in bed sipping coffee, waiting to get hungry to make breakfast.  It will definitely include milk and/or eggs since I’m going home tomorrow for the weekend and need to use up my perishables.  I skipped any exercise yesterday and was planning a run for this morning, but the rain had other plans for me.  Now my plan is to hit the gym after work.  And then the library to write that paper I should have started last night … oh, well, I have time!

