My leisurely morning 4 miler really refreshed me!  I did it in 39:07 – slower than usual.  I actually had to remind myself to not push it all the time, that not every run has to be my fastest.  I took my time and really enjoyed myself.  I say this a lot, but it’s so funny that when I ran cross country in high school, I HATED running, and now it’s what keeps me sane.

I came back and ignored these for the second time today:
PB031162

We had a dessert bar with another sorority last night while I was in a meeting and at the gym. This is what’s leftover – a lot.  The whole kitchen smells like donuts.  Sweet, chocolate frosted, Halloween-colored donuts.  I win, donuts, I win.

Instead, inspired by Taylor’s latest post, I had my favorite cereal/yogurt combo:
PB031173

1/2 cup Kashi Honey Sunshine layer, Chobani Blueberry, another 1/2 cup Kashi Honey Sunshine layer

PB031172Plus green tea

PB031171Plus some apricots

Delish.

Two things I’ve really recognized I need to work on lately: hydration and strength training.  I know that I don’t drink enough water, especially on days when I’m running.  However, I also know that the “8 cups a day” rule is a myth, since we get a lot of water intake from food – and I eat a lot of fruits and veggies.  There are definitely days and times of the day when I know that I should drink more, but it gets so boring!  The green tea I’m sipping is step one in operation hydration!

I know strength training is important.  I do.  But I don’t feel like I’m doing anything unless I’m doing cardio – I’m a self-professed cardio junkie.  I’ve been dabbling in yoga and do some crunches and free weights here and there, but not nearly as much as I should.  So, operation two – strength training – also begins today!  I’m going to aim to do at least 10 minutes of some sort of strength training 3 times a week.  I also want to start doing yoga AT LEAST once a week.

School work is never-ending, but there I do have FREE TIME these days!  Free time to do my resume and start applying to jobs, anyway – SCARY!

Back after lunch :0)

