Good evening bloggies!  Let’s go back to breakfast …

PB081220PB081219PB0812211/3 cup oats, 1/4 cup skim, 1/4 cup water, other half of my pre-run Macintosh, cinnamon

Lunch was eaten at work and looked like this:

PB031173Repeat pic – Blueberry Chobani and Kashi Honey Sunshine

I also had a huge Macintosh and Candy Cane Lane!!  It was pepperminty and sweet – not exactly like a candy cane, but pretty close!  Leaving work at around 3:45, I had an Emerald Nuts 100 calorie pack of almonds and walnuts.  I’m not so good at portioning nuts (who is?) so I love these, especially the cocoa roasted almonds – sooo chocolatey and yummy!

Dinner was a huge d-hall salad from a different dining hall than I usually eat at.  On my plate, I piled

  • Romaine
  • Baby spinach
  • Cucumber slices
  • Jalapeño pieces
  • Broccoli florets
  • Red pepper strips
  • Red onion
  • Kidney beans
  • Chickpeas
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Balsamic vinegar

They didn’t have salsa OR hummus!  Ahh! I was hungry two hours later.  Really, it’s because I had no hummus.  I actually can’t remember the last time I didn’t have hummus with dinner … With some time to kill in between dinner and chapter, my little and I stopped at Starbucks.  I wanted something sweet and warm, so I got a tall caffé misto with skim and two pumps of sugar-free cinnamon dulce syrup.  It could have been a little sweeter, but it was still just what I wanted.

I use the dining hall to supplement my fruit stash.  Tonight I swipe two small bananas, a Granny Smith, and two teeny apples.  Look how cute and small!
PB091225

As soon as I got home, I knew I wanted a snack with yogurt and apples and grapes.  When I opened my fridge, I realized hummus was completely missing from today.  A snack plate fixed all these problems:

PB091226Vanilla Chobani, grapes, teeny apple (+ cinnamon added after), carrot and hummus

Ate it all.  Loved it all.  Especially dipping the apples and grapes in the Chobz.  Mmmm : p

I really tried to limit my sodium intake after last night’s dinner of salt broth and I think I did a pretty good job!  I also have drank (drunk?  I feel like I should know this as an English major) more water than I normally do, but not as much as I wanted to.  I did eat A LOT of watery foods though – romaine, apples (3 in one day – it’s an addiction), grapes, etc.  Hopefully my salt-induced puffiness will be gone tomorrow!

I’ve realized lately that I don’t eat 3 large meals a day, but 4 smaller one with 1 or 2 snacks – generally before working out in the morning and something in the afternoon.  This is what works for me, especially since I get extremely snacky at night, whether I’m truly hungry or not.  By spacing out my calories like I do, I’m able to eat more at night and be satisfied, other than just randomly snacking later on because of boredom, tiredness, or whatever the reason is I always feel like eating at night. I think a lot of times, people think that they should be eating what and when others do – forgetting that everyone’s body is different.  I think that is why the majority of diets fail – they are not custom-made for anyone, but marketed for mass “production.”

What works best for you?  3 big meals?  Multiple snacks?  No snacks?

