I had my first Thanksgiving dinner of the season tonight!  But first …

I ended up getting a Cedar’s snack pack with garlic hummus and plain pita chips and an apple for lunch from the convenience store in the Union.  It comes with 6 pita chips (more like pita crackers) and 6 tablespoons (?!?!) of hummus.  The pita chips were stale, but I don’t think they would have tasted any better crunchy.  The hummus was good though, but I’m not sure why there’s SO MUCH hummus with such a small chip ratio.  I saved the leftover hummus for later.

I had a crisp, cold apple too!

I actually did feel better after eating this small lunch!  Between work and meetings, I was hungry for a small snack, so I munched on some yummy apricots:

Then it was time for my sorority’s Thanksgiving dinner! The menu:

  • Roasted turkey
  • Stuffing
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Corn
  • Peas
  • Green beans
  • Cheesy potatoes
  • Broccoli
  • Green bean casserole
  • Rolls
  • Cranberry sauce
  • Pumpkin dip served with Teddy Grahams

 

This holiday season, with my new healthy lifestyle, I’m taking a good hard look at what I’m eating.  Our stuffing was Stovetop – aka from a box, not a stove.  The mashed potatoes were also from a box – yum?  I’m curious what number ingredient “potato” actually was – should have checked for a good laugh.  Our canned cranberry sauce was wonderfully HFCS-laden, as I’m sure the cheesy (from a packet) potatoes were.  Our peas, corn, and green beans were from a can – not too bad, but I’m pretty sure peas and green beans shouldn’t be olive in color?

My plate had:

  • Absolutely delish white meat turkey (about 3 oz.)
  • Corn (so yummy – 1/4 cup-ish)
  • Broccoli – about 2.5 cups total?

One of my fellow health-conscious sisters made steamed broccoli – with just garlic and lemon.  I don’t know what she did to it, but it was seriously the most amazing broccoli I have ever had.  I just kept filling my plate back up with it.  I’m asking her for the recipe proportions and making it immidiately.  I love broccoli, but this was just AMAZING!  Too bad there aren’t any leftovers – I legit finished the bowl.

The desserts we had didn’t really appeal to me (no pumpkin pie!) and I had an intense berry craving, so I went with one of my sisters on a quick grocery store trip.  I really wanted strawberries!  But not for $6!  I grabbed some raspberries, blackberries, two small Fujis, and a Vanilla Chobani.  I obvs made a delicious yogurt bowl –

1/2 cup blackberries, 1/2 cup raspberries, 1/2 a Fuji apple
Plus my shadow and vanilla Chobz

The raspberries are amazingly plump and SO SO SO good.  It was amazingggg and just what I wanted.

The amount of fruit I consumed today is seriously obscene.  Good thing the massive amounts of broccoli threw a few servings of veggies in!

