Let’s go back in time to yesterday afternoon …

Around 4, I decided to have a big snack:
Strawberry Chobz with Kashi Honey Sunshine

After my snacky, I napped and got ready for Mexican food with the rest of my sorority’s exec board and our adviser.  Between my snack and my nap, I wasn’t all that hungry.  I ended up getting a fajita salad, described as “A crisp tortilla bowl filled with lettuce, tomatoes, salsa casera, Monterrey Jack and cheddar cheese.  Topped with shrimp sauteed in our famous salsa butter.”  I got their AMAZING tequila lime cilantro dressing on the side.  I nixed the cheeses and asked for grilled, not sauteed, shrimpies.  It was delish!  I love love love their salsa, and used it as a dressing for the salad and just poured it all in.  The shrimp were great – not dripping in butter.  I ate it all.  Since I hadn’t been super hungry to begin with, I was stuffed!

After dins, I packed for home and got ready for New Moon!  I popped some kettle corn to take to the theater, as I am poor.

Picture taken in the middle of transferring popcorn into plastic bags for crunchiness preservation.  On the way to the theater, around 10:30, we stopped at Starbucks for some fuel – a grande bold with skim and Splenda.  We got to the theater RIGHT before it got crazy busy!  They weren’t letting anyone in the two theaters (and didn’t until 11:20) so we had a while to wait, and there was already a line when we got there.  I’ll do a complete recap tomorrow!

I didn’t end up eating any of the popcorn til after 2am on the ride home – the late dinner and coffee kept me almost uncomfortably full through the movie.  After not getting home til almost 3, I wasn’t sure if I would end up going to class this morning.  I really need a full 7-8 hours for my appetite to stay on track, and my body has been hovering over sick for over a week now, so my hunger has been so off.  I’ve said it before, but I really hate when plans and things like that change, including the timing of my meals and snacks.  So, I didn’t set an alarm and figured if I woke up in time for class I’d go.

I woke up at 9 – I have class at 10 and 11.  So I packed some more, didn’t eat – since I only got about 6 hours of sleep, my stomach had that uncomfortable full/bloated feeling I get when I’m sick or don’t sleep enough.  I didn’t eat anything until I had gotten through class and was halfway home – I just wasn’t hungry.  In the car, I munched on a small-ish Fuji.

The apple finally kick started my stomach, and by the time I got home I was starving!  But I didn’t get a picture – ugh!  I was totally planning on it, but then my dad stopped by and I got distracted with conversation and my growling stomach.

My awkward 3pm lunch was – one egg + an egg white on an Arnold’s Multigrain Sandwich Thin with organic ketchup, baby carrots and hummus, and 2 clementines.  Told you I was hungry! I was soooo happy when I opened the fridge and saw clementines.  I love love love them – their size, their small, and obviously, their taste.  My family always has them around Christmas, so they remind me of my favorite time of the year too!

When my mom get home we hit up CostCo!  I’d never been before because she won’t take me.  It’s apparently dangerous to the check book (yes, the check book.  Momma won’t move into the century of the debit card like everyone else).  We got lots, but mah goodies included:

  • Giant container of organic mixed greens
  • Lifetime (or for me, weeklong) supply of Bubblemint Orbit
  • Blackberries
  • Raspberries
  • Gala apples
  • Grapes
  • Veggie Patch falafel balls
  • Chobsies (4 each of strawberry, peach, and blueberry)
  • Broccoli
  • Butternut squash
  • Mushrooms
  • Rotisserie chicken

Okay, so obviously that’s not all JUST for me, but it’s the food I picked out for my fam’s groceries this week, and essentially what I’ll be eating while I’m home for next 10 glorious days.  I don’t think my mom is prepared for the amount of fruit I actually eat .. and I held back!  I resisted pears, kiwi, cantaloupe, mangoes, and more!  CostCo is sososo much better than BJ’s!

Even though we have all of that amazingness + more (the stuff I didn’t make my mom buy), we went out to Mexican for dinner – hence the fiesta title!

I had a couple chips and salsa.  Ok.  This was the BEST salsa I have ever had.  Obviously homemade, it was the perfect salsa taste.  SUPER fresh.  It really just needed to be hotter (wasn’t spicy at all), but honestly it was so good I didn’t mind.  I ordered the Pollo Oaxaqueño – Grilled chicken breast with molé sauce and cheese over vegetables, with Mexican salad and guacamole.  Again, I asked for no cheese and got the sauce on the side.

I wish I had taken a picture!  The amount of chicken served was ENORMOUS – I cut off a third of the breast and pushed the rest aside.  I ate maybe 4 ounces?  The veggies underneath were definitely cooked in oil, but not too much – they were just ok.  It was onion, green and yellow zucchini and carrots.  The Mexican salad was some cilantro, onion, and black beans.  It came in a little tortilla bowl – so cute!  I threw it in with my chicken and veggies.  It was really good.  The chicken was seasoned so well.  I dipped some in the molé sauce a couple times, but I really didn’t need to use it!

I just watched Food, Inc. – finally!  I’m going to save reviewing that and New Moon for tomorrow.  I’m exhausted and can’t wait to sleep for a longggg time in the most comfortable bed in the world.  Good night!

