Good afternoon!

Yesterday afternoon I snacked on some carrots with hummus and sriracha:

PC200641.JPG

Which was an awesome combo but gave me a stomachache for a few hours 😦 Sriracha, why have you forsaken me?

My mom was roasting a chicken for dinner and we stopped at the grocery store and on the way from my grandma’s. I was craving green beans, so I picked up a 5 pound bag. Oh well, I’m sure I’ll get through it!

Dinner was yummy! And not something that has been repeated 24723894 times in the past month:

PC200644.JPG
Black beans, roasted chicken with pepper, corn, and fresh green beans.

Due to the snow/ice and my horrible driving skills, the gym did not happen yesterday. I did end up doing some core yoga from a YogaDownload.com podcast. Um – it was not easy but I obviously didn’t try hard enough because my abs aren’t even sore today.
One of my goals for this break is to actually get strength training in. I’ve done yoga the past three days, which is definitely counts for me! I also really want to be able to get into a balanced Airplane pose without having one hand on my dresser/falling over and dying. Also, not on a rock in the ocean. But whatever. After yoga-ing, I snacked on some grapes that I grabbed at the grocery store – that were $12!!! And SO not worth it. But we won’t tell my mom that.
This morning I woke up and debated breakfast and when to go to the gym. Nothing sounded super appealing, and I decided I’d rather get the gym over with for the day. So I had half of this bar of greatness:

PC200652.JPG
Clif Iced Gingerbread Bar

Plus coffee with skim, TrueVia, and cinnamon before heading to the gym. I did 5 miles (painfully boring) in 46:28, averaging a 9:17 minute mile. Here’s what I did:
  • Mile 0-1: 6.2 mph
  • Mile 1-2: 6.3 mph
  • Mile 2-2.5: 6.4 mph
  • Mile 2.5-3: 6.5 mph
  • Mile 3-4: 6.6 mph
  • Mile 4-5: 6.7 mph

Simple, but effective! I had to take a quick walk & water break around mile 3.75 and then really just wanted to get it done. I wish I could have run outside but its so icy and I highly doubt the trail is super safe to run on. It is melting a lot out though, so maybe tomorrow!

I cooled down for 10 minutes, walking 3 mph at a 5.0% incline, and ate the other half of the Clif bar on the way out of the gym.

Clif Iced Gingerbread Bar
Taste:
Really good! Not the strongest gingerbread taste, but still really close. Loved the icing and the fact that it was drizzled, not coated – it was vanilla-y.  4/5.
Texture:
Chewy, soft, and nutty like a normal Clif. 5/5.
Fill Factor:
Gave me energy for my first 5-miler in a while, although the run itself could have been better. Other half held me over after the gym til now – about 1.5 hours.  5/5.
Ingredients:
Very long list, but nothing too scary – and 70% organic! Plus lotssss of vitamins and minerals! 22g of sugar in the whole bar – a lot – but good for pre- and post-run fuel. 4/5.

Comments: Great seasonal flavor! Definitely would buy it again.

Off to make a great lunch I’ve been planning since last night. Normal.

