Good afternoon!  I just had the best lunch EVER.  But before we get there, let’s backtrack …

Last night I had a few dried apricots right before bed.  Even though I was exhausted, I ended up not falling asleep til around 1!  And I woke up at 5:30 and couldn’t get back to sleep 😦  I eventually got up and made some Candy Cane Lane, read blogs and farmed for about an hour and was able to pass back out til a little before 9.  I guess it was that 3 hour nap yesterday .. oops!

Brekkie was disappointing:

3/4 c Fage 0% Plain, 3/4 c Kashi Heart to Heart, 1 c frozen blackberries, 1 c frozen strawberries

The blackberries were so bad.  I guess they were freezer burned to the extreme.  Ironically, the strawberry bag was open in the freezer and they were fine!  I didn’t eat any of the blackberries after I tried them 😦  Opening a new box of Heart to Heart was exciting though – the first handful from a freshly opened bag always tastes the best.  It’s the little things, people.

I set off to Target to finish my Christmas shopping and mail some packages.  Well, my car making weird and loud noises, a FedEx that I thought was a UPS and one closed-down post office later, I gave up and came home to eat.  But we were out of what I had been craving/dreaming about so I went to Stop & Shop since I was frustrated and breakfast wasn’t so great.  This is what I got:

La Tortilla Factory wraps, guacamole, Amy’s burritos, TruVia (from Target), low sodium black beans, sweet potatoes, and two movies – Stand By Me and Clue (also from Target)

I went just for the wraps and black beans, but .. you know.  I decided he guacamole would be an amazing addition to lunch, and the burritos were 2 for $5 … and my mom asked me to get the potatoes.  The two movies from Target were $5 each!  And I wonder I am legitimately broke.  Not okay, really.

BUT LUNCH WAS SERIOUSLY AMAZING. For some reason, I really wanted a black beans quesadilla.  Obviously I had to give in to my cravings.

The Best Dang QuesadiLLa Ever:

  • La Tortilla Factory wrap in Traditional (they didn’t have WW 😦 )
  • plain Laughing Cow wedge
  • 1/2 cup low sodium black beans
  • Plus 0% plain Fage, salsa, and guacamole for dipping/slathering purposes

I Pam-ed a large skillet and spread the LC wedge on half of the wrap.  I added the 1/2 cup of black beans so the cheesy side of the tortilla and carefully put it in the pan.  I let it brown up a little while I got my dippings ready and flipped it with my hands to avoid bean spillage.  After letting the other side toast for a little, I flipped again, less carefully, resulting in some bean leakage – hence, the random scattering of beans on top of the quesadilla.  No harm done.

I forgot how good guacamole is!  I got the 100 calorie snack packs of Wholly Guacamole for easy portion control and only used half here.  Honestly, next time (like, for dinner.  Sorry in advance.) I’d just use salsa and the guac.  I use Greek yogurt for everything else but guacamole is JUST TOO GOOD.  Monday is quesadilla day in our dining hall and I always got them last year.  This year, however, and my awareness of the probably less then stellar ingredients of the ginormous tortilla, questionable chicken, trans-fat filled cooking oil, most likely HFCS-filled guac and full fat sour cream restrained me.  This honestly tasted better than those (which, at the dhall isn’t hard) and is SO much healthier.  Score!  Seriously though, this will probably be dinner too.

I’m making some coffee to take to go FINALLY ship these books out and then I might go running at the trail (not too cold today) or just go to the gym before/after dinner later.  Usually I prefer to get my exercise in in the mornings, but going to the gym in the late afternoon/evening hasn’t been bad at all!  Plus I usually have extra energy then.  Wish me luck!

