I hope you all had a great day, whether you celebrate or not!

I started Christmas morning with an egg white omelet with Laughing Cow and some apple with cinnamon.  And coffee, of course.  After opening presents, my mom and stepdad headed to his sister’s house and my brother and I just hung around until it was time to go to my aunt and uncle’s.  We were supposed to be there around 1:30, so I figured we’d be eating around 2 but I wasn’t sure.  I also didn’t know what we’d be eating, so I ate a small lunch around 12:30.


Half a hummus and spinach sandwich, green beans with salt and pepper, and spicy black bean soup with a dollop of Fage

We ended up opening presents around 3 and not eating until 4:30ish.  I snacked on a couple plates of apple, pear, blackberry, and pomegranate fruit salad – yum!  For “dinner” I had salad – mixed green with mushroom, cucumbers, balsamic vinegar, and EVOO – plus veggie picked out from some vegetable fried rice and some roasted chicken.  Eating at weird times throws my stomach off.  I don’t understand why we can’t eat meals at normal times on holidays.  It seems like an American tradition to eat a huge meal in the middle of the afternoon, with snacking before and desserts after.  I think that’s part of the problem people have with holidays and overeating.  If we just kept meal times the same, I don’t think people would overeat as much or have to strategize!

Anyway, before bed I ended up snacking on a piece of whole wheat bread smeared with a plain Laughing Cow wedge.  At first I didn’t know what I wanted – I heated up some soup (Campbell’s Chicken Tortilla) but it was gross and too much food anyway.  Then I decided on a CrackWich, but ended up putting the hummus and hot sauce back into the fridge.  Sometimes simplicity is best when it comes to snacks.

I woke up this morning and had coffee and half an apple pie Larabar before heading to the gym:

I took it relatively easy – at least on the treadmill.  Still incredibly bored on it – 3.1m in 30 minutes, followed by 15 minutes on the stair mill and 15 on the elliptical – the last half in reverse mode.  I did reverse mode today and on Christmas Eve.  It’s something that quickly becomes obvious I never do, since I feel my quads and other muscles working in ways the stair mill, running, and forward ellipticalling do not make them.  It’s hard.

Breakfast part two was simple and quick:

Plain Cheerios with skim and half a banana

What was your favorite present of the holiday season? I got lots of fun stuff yesterday!  DVDs, gift cards, new Pandora charms, etc.  Pretty sure my favorites are the Whole Foods gift card from my brother and this:

A Swedish massage from my mom and stepdad!

Off to make lunch and watch season one of Weeds!

