After responding to a tweet by @ChobaniNicki about new flavors being sent to bloggers for review, I was SO EXCITED to have Chobani send me two new flavors – 0% Raspberry and 2% Strawberry Banana. I think we all know how obsessed I am with Greek yogurt, and especially Chobani. It’s really rare that I go a day without it. I have definitely been wanting a raspberry-flavored Greek yogurt for a while, as raspberries are one of my favorite fruits so hearing that this was one of the new flavors was super exciting! Here’s what I got:

PC290096.JPG PC290097.JPG
In a cooler, I received one regular-sized yogurt of each new flavor, as well as an insulated lunchbox. Thanks Chobani!
This morning, I decided to try the raspberry for breakfast:
PC300126.JPG PC300128.JPG PC300130.JPG PC300131.JPG
Like the other fruit flavors, the raspberry is fruit at the bottom. Pulling the lid off, you can see how thick it is – I expected nothing less. The nutritional stats are comparable to the other fruit flavors as well. I had it with some MultiGrain Cheerios y cafe.
PC300132.JPG PC300133.JPG PC300134.JPG
Chobani 0% Raspberry Greek Yogurt Opinion
Taste: Amazing. Raspberry-licious. 5/5.
Texture: Thick and creamy, exactly like the other 0% Chobanis. 5/5.
Fill Factor: 14g of protein. With the Cheerios and coffee, held me over through the gym and to a late lunch. 5/5.
Ingredients: Raspberries are the third ingredient, after evaporated cane juice. To me, it seems like those should be at least switched. Also, what is “locust bean gum”? 4/5.
Nutrition: Like the other fruit flavors, there are 140 calories in 1 6oz. cup. No fat or cholesterol, 65mg of sodium, 22g of carbs (1g from dietary fiber and 19g from sugar), 14g of protein. A lot of sugar, and I’d like to think mostly natural – lactose and fructose from milk and raspberries, but the evaporated cane juice as the second ingredient obviously contributes. 4/5.
Overall: It’s love. CAN’T WAIT til it’s in stores. New favorite fruit flavor next to blueberry.
5/5.

Before breakfast, I did the 20 minute class of Hip Opening Flow #4 from YogaDownload.com. My inner hips and thighs were super tight when I woke up and have been all day, so it was just what I needed.
Before the gym, I had half a bar I’ve been toting around since August, the Kashi GoLean Roll bar in Chocolate Turtle. My step-aunt gave me this as part of a back to school gift she gave me. Obviously I am obsessed with Kashi, but I’d never tried the “roll” bars before.
PC300135.JPG
Having it for many months has transformed it’s “roll” status into a … somewhat flatter shape.
PC300136.JPG
My b.
PC300140.JPG
I had half.
Kashi GoLean Roll Bar in Chocolate Turtle
Taste: Definitely a chocolate protein bar. A bit chalky. This is not a Russel Stover turtle.  1/5.
Texture: VERY tough and chewy. Hurt my jaw. To its credit, I’ve been toting it around for 4 months, but still. Oh, just saw the “Nov 19 2009” date on the wrapper. Disregard. I’ve heard they’re super tough anyway, though. 2/5.
Fill Factor: Great fuel for an hour on the elliptical! 5/5.
Ingredients: Long. Visible oats, nuts, and crunchy nuggets on the outside, on top of caramel, with chalky chocolate nougat inside. 2/5.
Nutrition: For one bar, pretty good. The bar is a substantial size and the whole thing would definitely hold me over for a snack. In one bar, there are 190 calories – pretty good for its large size! Of the 5g of fat, 1.5 are saturated (from nuts, I’m thinking), no cholesterol, 240mg of sodium (kinda high for a bar?), 60mg of potassium, 27g of carbs (it is meant to be a pre/post-exercise bar) – 6g from fiber (3g each of soluble and insoluble), 14g from sugar, and 12g of protein.
Overall: While not taste or texturally-ideal, I’ll definitely eat the other half pre-run/exercise. I think that it fueled me really well and kept my hunger at bay. For a protein bar, I find it funny that I got more protein from my Chobani this morning. Definitely tastes like a protein bar, but since its technically past its date-prime, its possible it tasted better in its prime. I’d try this flavor and others again.
2/5.

At the gym, I spent an hour on the elliptical, random hill setting, level 10. Women’s Health and “Untold Stories of the ER” passed the time pretty quickly.
I was hangry when I got home but could not for the life of me decide what I wanted. Actually, I wanted to make Gliding Calm’s tofu, but I didn’t have a bunch of the ingredients and my fridge FROZE my tofu! So it’s currently defrosting outside of the apparently arctic meat drawer. Then I decided on veggies and a veggie burger. Without carrots and wanting to save my brussels, I went with brocc. Microwaved a CostCo veggie burger in a paper towel.
PC310142.JPG
Eff. I am now STARVING. Take two.
PC310143.JPG PC310145.JPG
Don Lee Farms Veggie Patty on a Multi-Grain Sandwich Thin with onion and organic ketchup, plus a broccoli forest and garlic hummus

FOOD. Finally. These veggie “patties” are so so good. Just what I wanted. I just had a vanilla chai tea with skim and TruVia andddd I need a snack! If you’re driving today/tonight please be safe. New Year’s Post coming later!
