I hope you’re all having a great first day of 2010!

Let’s rewind to last year …

I snacked on a pear:

PC310148.JPG

It matches my mat!

I cooked for dinner! Cooked REAL FOOD!

Curried Chickpeas, adapted from this recipe.

  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • 3/4 c onion
  • 1 tbsp curry powder
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 c spinach
  • 1 tsp dried basil

I sprayed a skillet with Pam and sauteed the onions until they were transparent. I threw in the chickpeas, spinach, and spices and cooked on medium heat until the spinach was wilted, about 10 minutes. I also sprayed the pan/chickpeas/spinach with more Pam as they cooked.

PC310155.JPG

Sorry for the blurry pic, my camera battery is dying!  

I also made lemon ginger tofu, based on this recipe:

  • 1/3 box of cubed, super firm tofu – about 3 oz.
  • 1 tsp dried ginger
  • 1/2 tsp TruVia
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne
  • Lemon juice

I threw all the dry ingredients in a small bowl and used some leftover lemon to squeeze for the juice – probably about 3/4 of a lemon – maybe 1/4 cup of juice?

While I was prepping the rub and the chickpeas, I pressed my now-defrosted tofu, including this piece in the shape of Connecticut:

PC310149.JPG

Coated in the rub: (Can you spy the CT cube?)
PC310151.JPG  

Then I baked at 375 for 30 minutes, flipping the cubes halfway through cooking:

PC310152.JPG  

Tofu shrinks.

I also steamed some brussels and plated everything:

PC310157.JPG PC310158.JPG PC310160.JPG PC310161.JPG

The chickpeas are good! I still have half of what I made, but I think I’ll add more onions and some peas to the leftovers. With the lemon ginger tofu, there were too many strong flavors going on. I didn’t eat the tofu with dinner and threw it in the fridge to save for later.

Throughout the night, I had some pumpkin pie:

PC310163.JPG

And later on, a granny smith with cinnamon:

PC310167.JPG

Breakfast was light and exactly what I was craving:

PC310169.JPG
3 egg whites, LC French Onion wedge, salsa on a La Tortilla Factory wrap

Before the gym, I had the other half of that Kashi GoLean Roll Chocolate Turtle bar:

P1010171.JPG

Gym:

  • 30 minutes “rolling hills” level 7 on the stair mill
  • 30 minutes random hill level 10 on the elliptical

3pm Lunch:

P1010173.JPG
Sweet potato, black beans, plain Chobs, guac, and Frank’s

Surprisingly, I’ll leave the guac out next time.

I’m hungryyyy and I can’t decide what I want! Salmon and veggies? Leftover curried chickpeas? Lemon ginger tofu? Yogurt with fruit and cereal? AHHHHH so many options!

Actually, my hair doesn’t smell like curry. I showered after the gym. But it did!

For the new year: new fun purple layout! I also updated my Bar Bucket List and Product Review pages – check them out!

I also just accidentally bought 3 copies of ecto … hope they can/will take the extra two charges off my debit card … considering that’s about half my bank account.

