If when I ever start racing, I know what my pre-race dinner will be – a bento box with teriyaki shrimp and scallops and brown rice. Maybe minus the shiraz and carrot cake.

I seriously had such a great run at the gym. I planned for 4, but I felt so great I decided I’d go for 6 and cool down until I had been running for 60 minutes. I finished the 6 miles in 55:27, but by the time 60:00 rolled around, I was at 6.48 miles so I decided to just speed up again and get to 7 – a new PDR for me! I ran it in 64:50, averaging about a 9:15 minute mile.

P1030185.JPG

Pre-run, I had half a Cashew Cookie Larabar that my mom put in my Christmas stocking. Definitely not my favorite flavor – I’ll post a full review when I finish the other half. I’m sure the dates and cashews (the only 2 ingredients – why I love Larabar) helped keep my energy level up as well! Honestly, I felt so good I could have gone for 8, but I my knees were starting to feel the pounding and I knew I needed more fuel for a run that long.

Post-run, I really was not hungry at all (normally my stomach is growling after a workout), but after I showered I made a snack plate to refuel.

P1030187.JPG
Baby carrots, broccoli, sugar snap peas, and hummus x3 – plain, garlic, and plain with hot sauce

I got a little hungry again a couple hours later, so I heated up a small dinner of leftovers:

P1030188.JPG
Curried chickpeas and sweet potato rounds with organic ketchup

While I reheated the sweet potato rounds in the oven to crisp them up, I sauteed a tiny bit more onion and spinach to add to the chickpeas, and microwaved some frozen peas to add to the mix. When the onion and spinach were fully cooked, I threw the leftovers and the peas into the skillet to heat up and mix in. The peas were definitely a great addition!

4 hours later and I’m still uncomfortably full from that small meal. Running does such weird things to my appetite – 3 or 4 miles will leave me starving, but 7 miles and no appetite? My huge dinner and dessert from last night is probably contributing, but still! I guess my metabolism was just having a quirky day!

Sad, quick, and poorly-lit pictures are due to my camera’s quickly dying battery and my complete cluelessness as to where the charger is.

Have a great night!

