Right??

At Whole Foods while picking up my cake and some supplies for my grandma who’s sick, I obviously hit up the salad/hot bar:

P1020175.JPG

My box contained:

  • Mesclun greens
  • Steamed brocc
  • Red onion
  • Roasted eggplant
  • A hard-boiled egg
  • Dried cranberries
  • Peas
  • Piece of fajita turkey
  • Piece of chicken provencal

The hot bar at the Westport Whole Foods is pretty small and I was a little disappointed – there weren’t any marinated mushrooms (best thing ever) and the sign for roasted cauliflower (second best thing ever) was out, but suspiciously looked like green beans almondine. There isn’t any hummus out to use as a topping/dressing and my chicken provencal was definitely curried chicken. Not complaining since it was good, but how hard is it to label correctly?? The fajita turkey wasn’t good at all, I took a bite and left the rest. The roasted eggplant was the best part – I wish I had added more!

Out of the corner you can see a tiny bit of my drink – Hint water in mango-grapefruit. It’s definitely fruity, but not overpowering and not sweet at all – in a good way. It’s very refreshing, calorie and everything else-free. This flavor reminds me of summer! Yum!

On the way home, my mom and I stopped at Anthropologie to pick out my presents!

913960_069_b.jpg 913432_066_b.jpg

Major sale! Plus a belt that’s not online.

Apparently ginorm salads are not fuel enough for an Anthropologie sale and as soon as we got to the car, I scarfed down a granny smith I had in my purse for such snacking emergencies.

Dinner was Japanese at Sakura, in Westport. I started off dinner with a glass of shiraz and some miso soup. For my entree, I ordered the combination bento box with shrimp and scallops:

P1020176.JPG

Clockwise from upper left:

  • Pineapple and orange slices
  • Iceberg salad with amazing ginger dressing
  • Seaweed salad
  • Teriyaki scallops and veg
  • Picked things
  • Teriyaki shrimp and veg

Demolished. For reals, everything was gone. Minus the middle pickled things, including all the onion slices and miniscule carrots in the teriyakis. SO DAMN GOOD. I also had a few chopsticks full of my side of brown rice, but not a lot at all.

Home and time for cake! All natural carrot cake from Whole Foods:

P1020179.JPG   P1020180.JPG

What was left after 6 people had a slice.

It was a small cake (I don’t like leftover cake) and so so delicious! It was so moist – dense but light – if that makes sense? So rich and amazing. The cream cheese frosting was probably the best I’ve ever had – exactly what it is supposed to taste like – sweet and creamy, with a slight tang. Drool.

The Just Desserts bakery, based in San Francisco, uses all natural ingredients, no trans fats, and bakes all their cakes from scratch! It honestly tasted like it had been baked fresh at WF, so they obviously know what they’re doing.

I really wanted another piece, but that was the wine/sugar high talking. After letting the cake settle, I was stuffed. Seriously the fullest I’ve been in a while. Ick. I can definitely tell the difference between healthy-food-full and sugar-coma-full. But it was my birthday and so worth it!

Check out what my dogs got me:

P1020177.JPG

They eat carrots. A lot of carrots. So my mom and stepdad cut one in half and wrapped it in saran wrap as my dogs’ present to me. This is where I come from …

ANYWAY.

I started the morning off with a 20 minute YogaDownload.com podcast of Yoga for Runners and ate a tummy-cleansing breakfast:

P1020184.JPG P1020183.JPG
Coffee with skim and TruVia, 0% plain Chobani with frozen blueberries, half a banana, and Kashi Heart to Heart

Gym later, when it stops snowing. Yes, it’s snowing again. Starting my countdown to Ft. Lauderdale now.

